summer solstice eve

On the eve of the summer solstice, I bring you a quintessential summer dessert:

Blueberry pie.

This dessert has been in my summer repertoire since middle school, when my best friend, Robyn, and I, spent a carefree afternoon experimenting in the kitchen with a couple pints of fresh berries and a roll of pie dough.  The result was better than we or any of our family members could have ever imagined, and it quickly became a summer staple. We’ve made pie in my kitchen, her kitchen, and hotel kitchens while on vacation.  Although today I was baking solo, I was still reminded of our years of pie baking, lattice crust decorating, and not-so-slick taste-testing before we served the warm pie to our families (is an entire chunk of crust missing really that noticeable?)

Today’s pie was made for Father’s Day. After a summery dinner, blueberry pie with vanilla ice cream was the perfect finish.  I’ll never cease being amazed by how hard indigo berries transform into plump, bubbly, amethyst gems while in the oven. I’ll never stop loving each contrasting bite of sweet, tart, crunchy, and creamy that the union of crust, fruit, and ice cream creates.  And I’ll never stop thinking how this oh-so-simple dessert equals summer perfection.

Make blueberry pie your new summer tradition. I promise you won’t regret it.

Happy Summer from mumblepie!

Blueberry pie recipe found here. Our one modification is to add the zest and juice of one lemon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

