double the sweetness

Both of us undertook a baking project this weekend and left our kitchen with a lingering aroma of butter and sugar that lulled us into the week.

Joanna. On Thursday my baking business received its latest customer! She requested a fruity cake for a Sunday brunch. I capitalized on the recent plethora of plump blueberries at the store and made a Sour Cream Blueberry Coffee Cake from Ina Garten. I doubled the amount of blueberries, which bejewled the golden cake with juicy violet gems. The crumb topping was flavored with a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg and piled thickly atop the moist batter. Though I didn’t taste the cake myself, I received word today that it was a hit. I hope to do more business in the near future!

Erica. Clearly, I’m not the baker of the family (see above). However, since I first spotted the recipe for Espresso Cheesecake Brownies in Baking: From My Home to Yours, it’s been lingering in the back of my mind. Cheesecake, anything coffee-flavored, and brownies all rank extremely high on my list of favorite desserts, so these bars seemed to be a given. Homemade cheesecake is delicious, but for all the work of crust-making and waterbaths and springform pans, I’d just assume brave the Factory. The most pleasant surprise of this stratified treat was that everything baked at once in a yum-o 30 minutes. The top tier was dense and sweet—everything that makes a great cheesecake—with a strong espresso flavor. The brownie layer could have been a bit more crumbly and a lot more chocolaty, but overall it was a dessert success. I brought these treats into the office today and my co-workers couldn’t have been more grateful for this simple Monday morning pick-me-up.

1 Comment

Filed under Erica, Joanna

One response to “double the sweetness

  1. Jerome

    so delicious for eyes and so be desired by my tongue and my belly

Leave a Reply

