a sweet surprise

I had a busy day of baking on Tuesday, but held off on posting until my goods had reached their destination. I had shipped a surprise package to my roommate, Jess, in D.C. She was going to be meeting up with our other roommate, Jorie, this weekend, and since I couldn’t make the journey, I at least wanted to provide them with a caloric reminder of my love.

This isn’t the first cross-country shipment I’ve made. In January I sent a 15 lb. box of various treats to my boyfriend and his roommates in Boston. I did a repeat performance in March, and again in May. In June I shipped a batch of cookies up to Mississippi where my best friend is spending the summer. There’s something thrilling about whipping up my friend’s favorite goodies, wrapping them in a brown paper package, and ensuring that the post office stamps on the “perishable” label.

This package had sweet potato bread with cinnamon pecan streusel for Jess, a vegetarian with a sweet (potato) tooth, and peanut butter chocolate chip cookies inspired by Jorie, a peanut butter-holic.

I received a call from Jess today, who said she was “inhaling” the smell of the bread and enjoying the cookies, which were warm from their ride in the mail truck. Coincidentally, I also received a package from Jess today with some great recipes that I will definitely be trying out soon.

I’ve provided some tips for shipping baked goods after the jump.

Tips for shipping baked goods:

– Wrap cookies in plastic wrap in stacks of 3-4 and then place the stacks in a large Ziploc bag.
– Denser cakes, such as loaf cakes or bundt cakes, ship well. Wrap them in 2-3 layers of plastic wrap followed by a layer of alumninum foil.
– Bake brownies or bar cookies in a foil pan and ship them still in the pan, wrapped in a layer of plastic and then aluminum foil. This maintains their moistness and structural integrity, and is incredibly convenient. Loaf cakes can also be shipped in a foil pan.
– Minimize the use of frostings and glazes. They will most likely melt or lose their integrity on their journey. If your treats just can’t do without a topping, you can always include a recipe card for it so that the lucky recipient can place the finishing touches once it arrives!
– Use packing peanuts, newspaper, or hard plastic containers to make sure that the goods won’t shift or smush during their travel.
– Make sure to ship it Priority Mail (usually 2 days) or Express Mail (if you’re willing to pay a pretty penny). The sooner, the fresher, the better.
– Include a greeting and/or recipe card to add a personal touch.

1 Comment

Filed under Joanna

One response to “a sweet surprise

  1. Jessica Goldkind

    My family and I were licking these crumbs like animals.

Leave a Reply

