all-american dinner

Erica’s boyfriend, Jérôme, is visiting from France for a couple of weeks. Last night I decided to treat him and the family to a very traditional American dinner of pork chops, macaroni and cheese, and green beans, with a few not-so-traditional twists.

The pork chops were marinated with dijon mustard, honey, and rosemary and pan fried. I then used the pan drippings to make a red wine cherry sauce. The green beans were simply steamed with some lemon zest and apricot preserves for a little sweetness. The macaroni and cheese was far from the blue-box variety. I managed to use up almost all of my mammoth cheddar earnings (see “everything’s better…” post) to make a velvety sauce that enrobed the spokes and rims of these adorable mini wagonwheels (from Barilla’s new Piccollini line of pasta). Here’s the recipe from Alton Brown.

Jérôme took seconds, and then thirds. I think we’re only a few more mac-n-cheese’s away from a permanent move to America.

2 Comments

Filed under Joanna

2 responses to “all-american dinner

  1. I love pork. And I love you. Alton Brown? C’mon!You could definitely do it better yourself!

  2. Joanna

    Next time I’ll go solo, but this was my first attempt at mac-n-cheese, so I needed a little inspiration. I’m glad to find another Miami food blogger (who I see loves pork as well!)

Leave a Reply

