sugar cured

The cards have been made and the first clients have been served. I am officially embarking on a baking business venture. The name of my business is “sugar cured”—the perfect summation of my physician-to-be baking self. If this endeavor takes off, I would also like to donate a portion of the proceeds to the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life, which I help plan year-round at Wash. U. This hope only makes the “cure” part of the name all the more fitting.

My first customers were served yesterday. Scott’s grandmother was throwing a large party for her friends, and I offered to make the desserts: a lemon raspberry birthday cake and an assortment of brownies and blondies. They were a huge hit, and I was excited to see some of my business cards being taken.

I made three layers of a white lemon cake and filled them with raspberry preserves and freshly whipped cream.

I frosted the top with a lemon meringue buttercream and the sides with additional whipped cream. I decorated the cake with coconut, fresh raspberries, and a raspberry preserve-written birthday wish.

It was only after I precariously arranged the layers that I realized this cake would have to survive a half-hour car trip in the Florida sun. But thanks to my backseat driving Scott’s careful driving and the air conditioner on full blast, the cake made it safely, and was gone before I could even get a good picture of it! I was able to snag a slice for myself, and I must admit that it was quite delicious—the cake was moist and delicate, the frosting light and airy, and the flavors were bright and summery.

Gooey squares of chocolate and white chocolate chunk brownies and chocolate chip pecan blondies were also a hit.

I’m currently taking requests for baked goods (banana bread, brownies, blondies, cakes, cookies, crisps, and anything else). Until I can provide a medical cure, I’d love to provide a sugar cure!

1 Comment

Filed under Joanna

One response to “sugar cured

  1. Robyn

    You amaze me. The descriptions/pictures of all your delicious food makes me want to fight rush hour Miami traffic so I can raid your fridge. Good luck with Sugar Cured, I know it’ll be a success!

Leave a Reply

